Skip to main content

Annotated Bibliographies: A How to Guide: Databases

A resource for all things annotated bib. To be used specifically for Ms. Sepcie's and Ms. Wallerstein's

On this page...

A list of databases provided by the LC along with tools and tips on how to make them work for you. With databases, you can locate articles, scholarly journals, primary documents, and other sources to inform your paper. 

Ms. Mayo's Tutorials

VHSLC Databases

Click above to access our entire collection of databases and other research tools available through the VHSLC

Recommended Databases

​GALE Databases


  • Google-compatible: save PDF, links, and citations directly to the drive and classroom
  • Topic Pages: Each collection of materials has a topic page - similar to wikipedia’s format a that provides a summary and a list of sources by media format
  • Currency of information: Gale is updated multiple times a day - therefore the featured content is often current yet vetted material
  • Citation Tools: the database with generate a citation based for each article based on MLA, APA, or Chicago

 

JSTOR Databases


  • College Level Materials: Recommended for advanced research, including scholarly journals and academic full-texts​
  • Keyword Sensitive: Vary your keywords to get different results.
  • PDF Downloading: Users can save PDF versions of articles to a device
  • Citation Tools: JSTOR will generate a citation based for each article based on MLA, APA, or Chicago
  • Filter Results: Users can filter results by content type, date, journal type, and language.