Skip to main content

Annotated Bibliographies: A How to Guide: Step 5: Writing Your Annotated Bibliography

A resource for all things annotated bib. To be used specifically for Ms. Sepcie's and Ms. Wallerstein's

Objective

To prove an historical thesis statement by compiling and analyzing 6 sources and provide notes on each one.

Ms. Mayo's Tutorials

Annotated Bibliography Format

Annotated Bibliography Requirements


► Include a well-developed thesis statement (claim) at the top of the bibliography

► Provide a minimum of at least six (6) academic / scholarly sources that you plan to use in your paper.  

► For each source...

  • provide a complete Bibliography entry following either MLA or Chicago style (please see below for citation guides)
  • Write a paragraph discussing:
  • Qualifications of the author
    • Why is the author able to speak on the subject? What makes them an "expert"?
    • Tip: You might have to Google search the author in order to find a more information. If the author is not available, provide the credibility of the publisher or source of information
  • Bias/standpoint of the author
    • What bias or stance is the author/publisher taking? How might this influence the information provided?
    • Tip: Some articles that you read tend to lean towards one side or provide a critical analysis. If a stance or point of view is not provided, what is the purpose of this source? (i.e.: to inform, summarize) How did you determine this?
  • Brief description of the content
    • What are the main points of the article? Any conclusions made about the subject?
    • Tip: Avoid details in your summary. Keep it to just the main ideas of the article or source (i.e.: Who, what, where, why)
  • How do you plan on using this in your "paper"?
    • What makes this source relevant to your topic or thesis? What makes this source unique?
    • Tip: In order to address relevancy, try to go beyond just claiming that it's simply related to your topic, but rather aim answer the question "How does the information included in this source help prove my thesis?". 

Other Important Documents

Citing Your Sources MLA

Basic Paper Format

  • Heading: First and Last Name, Teacher's Name, Course Name, Date the paper is due
  • Title: Capitalize each word, centered
  • Times New Roman, size 12, 1 inch margins, double spaced
  • In-text citations for anything that is quoted or paraphrased 
  • Works cited page for any sources used

Works Cited Format


Books

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

Periodicals (i.e. Journals/Scholarly Article)

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, pages.

Website​

"Name of the article/webpage." Name of the website, year of publication, URL (without http://). Access date. 


Need more help with MLA citations and format?

Perdue OWL MLA Writer's Guide: Comprehensive guide on how to format and cite your MLA paper. Use the left hand index to quickly find information. 

Citing Your Sources Chicago

Basic Paper Format

  • Heading: First and Last Name, Teacher's Name, Course Name, Date the paper is due
  • Font size 12, Times new roman, 1 inch margins, double spaced
  • Footnotes for in text citations (not required for your annotated bibliography - just an FYI for a paper)
  • Bibliography page at the end with all sources cited (citation required for your annotated bibliography)

 

Works Cited Format


Books

  • Footnote

   1. Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

  • Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

Periodicals (i.e. journals/scholarly articles)

  • Footnote:

1. Firstname Lastname, “Title of the Article,” Name of the journal/newspaper/magazine issue#, volume # (Year of Publication): page # cited.

  • Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of the Article.” Name of the journal/newspaper/magazine issue#, volume # (Year of Publication): page #s.

Website​

  • Footnote: 

 1. Firstname Lastname, “Title of Web Page,” Publishing Organization or Name of Website in Italics, publication date and/or access date if available, URL.

  • Bibliography: 

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Web Page.” Publishing Organization or Name of Website in Italics. Publication date and/or access date if available. URL.


Need more help with Chicago citations and format?

Purdue OWL Chicago Writer's Guide: Comprehensive guide on how to format and cite your Chicago Style paper. Use the left hand index to quickly find information.