Skip to main content

The Tambo Paper: A Guide: Databases

A list of references and tools to help you successfully navigate and complete your US History I 1800s research paper

On this page...

A list of databases provided by the LC along with tools and tips on how to make them work for you. With databases, you can locate articles, scholarly journals, primary documents, and other sources to inform your paper. 

Ms. Mayo's Tutorials

What a Scholarly Article or Source?

What is a scholarly source?

A scholarly publication is one in which the content is written by experts in a particular field of study - generally for the purpose of sharing original research or analyzing others' findings. Typically a scholarly source or article is affiliated with a professor, graduate student, or institution of higher education (college, university, research center...etc)

What is Peer-Reviewed?

What is peer-review?
Peer-review refers to the rigorous process that articles undergo before they may be published.  Other scholars in the author's field or discipline review and evaluate the article for quality and validity.  If lacking, the article may be rejected, but otherwise, the article is accepted, often with suggestions for revision.

VHSLC Databases

Click above to access our entire collection of databases and other research tools available through the VHSLC

Recommended Databases

​GALE Databases


  • Google-compatible: save PDF, links, and citations directly to the drive and classroom
  • Topic Pages: Each collection of materials has a topic page - similar to wikipedia’s format a that provides a summary and a list of sources by media format
  • Currency of information: Gale is updated multiple times a day - therefore the featured content is often current yet vetted material
  • Citation Tools: the database with generate a citation based for each article based on MLA, APA, or Chicago

 

JSTOR Databases


  • College Level Materials: Recommended for advanced research, including scholarly journals and academic full-texts​
  • Keyword Sensitive: Vary your keywords to get different results.
  • PDF Downloading: Users can save PDF versions of articles to a device
  • Citation Tools: JSTOR will generate a citation based for each article based on MLA, APA, or Chicago
  • Filter Results: Users can filter results by content type, date, journal type, and language.