Skip to main content

Sources 101: Databases

A guide to help navigate and evaluate all web sources and academic information

Why use Databases?

GALE Databases

 

Recommended for:

  • General research

  • Subject-based inquiries

  • Multi-media sources (videos, images, audio)

  • Primary sources

  • Reliable information for current events   ‚Äč

  Features:

  • Google-compatible: save PDF, links, and citations directly to the drive and classroom
  • Topic Pages: Each collection of materials has a topic page - similar to wikipedia’s format a that provides a summary and a list of sources by media format
  • Currency of information: Gale is updated multiple times a day - therefore the featured content is often current yet vetted material
  • Citation Tools: the database with generate a citation based for each article based on MLA, APA, or Chicago

EBSCO Databases

List of Resources:

 

  • Literary Reference Center

  • Explora - Secondary Edition

  • Points of View

  • Referencia Latina

  • Novelist

  • Business Searching Interface

  • EbscoHost Image search

  • Legal Information Center

  • Small Business Center

  • Explora Educator's Database

 

Recommended for:

 

  • General research

  • Primary and magazine sources

  • Legal and business reference

  • Book recommendations and reviews

  • Foreign language databases

  • Educator resources

Features:

  • Downloading material: users can save PDF versions of articles to a device.
  • Citation Tools: the database with generate a citation based for each article based on MLA, APA, or Chicago
  • Filter Results: Users can filter results by content type, date, journal type, and language.