Skip to main content

America Through Pictures: A Research Guide: Databases

Use the following guide as a reference for your picture projects for Ms. Sepcie and Mr. Bresnan's U.S. History classes.

Database Collection @ VHSLC

Tips for Searching on Databases

Research databases provide students with access to academic and reliable materials and is a necessary tool in any research project. Databases use different algorithms than Google does, so use the following tips in order to get better results:
  • Spelling counts: Databases are case sensitive - therefore make sure you capitalize and spell your terms correctly
  • Avoid Stop Words:  unlike Google - databases will count commonly use words and using them will yield you too many results. Avoid a, an, the, in , of, on, are, be, if, into, which. Make sure all your terms are important to your search
  • Phrase Search: When you are typing a phrase into a database, write it in quotations (i.e. "U.S. Civil War") - otherwise it will search it as separate terms
  • Advanced Search
    • Boolean operators: within advanced searching, you may include various operators in order to yield more specific results to complex search terms. The most basic Boolean operators are AND, OR, NOT
      • Civil War AND nurses
      • Civil War NOT Confederacy
      • Civil War OR "the gilded age"
    • Other operators are NEAR 5, NEAR 10, NEAR 15. These will search for two keywords that are 5, 10, or 15 words away from each other
    • Within advanced search you may also modify the search fields to narrow  your result by file type, author, date of publication, language, type/subject of journal, and peer-reviewed. The options of fields varies by database. 
  • Truncation Search: in order to expand your keyword search, you may use truncation to include various word endings and spellings (ex. child* = children, childhood)
  • Read the Abstract: many articles may be very long and may not connect to your topic. Read the abstract, and if that isn't available, read the first and last page of the article.

GALE Databases

PASSWORD: white

Recommended for:

  • General research

  • Subject-based inquiries

  • Multi-media sources (videos, images, audio)

  • Primary sources

  • Reliable information for current events   

‚Äč   Features:

  • Google-compatible: save PDF, links, and citations directly to the drive and classroom
  • Topic Pages: Each collection of materials has a topic page - similar to wikipedia’s format a that provides a summary and a list of sources by media format
  • Currency of information: Gale is updated multiple times a day - therefore the featured content is often current yet vetted material
  • Citation Tools: the database with generate a citation based for each article based on MLA, APA, or Chicago

JSTOR Database

USERNAME: veronahs

PASSWORD: research

 

Recommended for:

 

  • Scholarly journals and other sources

  • Advanced and college-level research

  • Academic full-text books

Features:

  • Downloading material: users can save PDF versions of articles to a device.
  • Citation Tools: the database with generate a citation based for each article based on MLA, APA, or Chicago
  • Filter Results: Users can filter results by content type, date, journal type, and language.

EBSCO Databases

USERNAME: maroon

PASSWORD: white

  • Explora Secondary Schools: A collection of information developed for high school students organized by subject and topic
  • EbscoHost Web: When searching we recommend using the following collections for this project:
    • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia: simple and short encyclopedia entries
    • Academic Search Premier: searchable collection of academic journals
    • Military and Government Collection: offers news and journals pertaining to all branches of the military