Topic Development B Days
Having a hard time thinking about your topic? Springboard your thinking from these general topics:
10/16 Becoming the Change
Objective: We will determine how a social issue can have a personal impact by viewing and interpreting some examples.
Objective: We will compile a list of topics by conducting preliminary research as a class and determine if they fit within requirements of the project. By the end of the period you will select your top 3 topics.
Objective: We will develop inquiry questions by identifying one topic per group and develop a "lens" or focus for continued research.
Objective: We will persuade our class to vote by selecting one topic per group and developing an "elevator pitch" speech
Objective: We will assess our top 5 topics as a class and evaluate their connection to the Research for Change project by casting a final vote and providing a rationale.
Reflect on each elevator pitch: Why would this topic serve as a good project? Initial reactions (yes, no, maybe)?
GALE Global Issues: VHS's Database on both national and international issues. You may search for specific topics or browse by main idea. Global issues is also cross-searchable with Opposing Viewpoints, a database that provides information on issues and varying perspectives or opinions on it.
Google Trend: Latest trends, visualizations, and data from Google searches. Information can be seen by search term or geographical area.
Frontline by PBS: Award winning, compelling documentaries that are companions to the investigative journalism series. Provides documents and resources that connect to the films.
The Choices Program: Brown University's database on historical and current issues. Some resources are paid, however, they provide an overview for many social issues.
National Center for Policy Analysis: "The NCPA is a nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy research organization" that "encourages individual rights, free enterprise and self-government." Their stated mission is "to seek innovative private-sector solutions to public policy problems."
PBS NewsHour: Some of the topical areas are politics, science, religion, the budget, and business. Frontline, a PBS public affairs television program, also has keyword searchable indexes to its documentary reports on controversial issues in foreign affairs, the government, criminal justice, and health, science, and technology.
Pro-Publica : ProPublica is an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest.
Public Agenda Online: Public Agenda is a "nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization." Each "issue guide" published on their website provides an overview, a fact file, and three perspectives on the issue at hand, while the Public Opinion section reports and interprets survey and research results.
POV by PBS : A collection of acclaimed documentaries with a social message. Contains a searchable database by topic.
DoSomething.org: Database on teen volunteerism based on cause and type of outreach. Great source to gather examples and ideas for your final project